Thursday , 22 February 2018
Breaking News
Home » Banner » Smith expects quick Australian recovery vs Sri Lanka

Smith expects quick Australian recovery vs Sri Lanka

Australia captain Steve Smith expects his players to move on quickly from their shock 106-run defeat to Sri Lanka in the first test.

“I think we were disappointed and flat initially and now the mood has brightened up a bit, it’s about trying to turn it around,” Smith said ahead of the second test, starting Thursday in spin-friendly Galle.

“I don’t think an Australian side has come back 0-1 down in the subcontinent. So it’s all about try and rewrite history, we’ve got to do that on this tour.”

The Sri Lankans secured a morale-boosting win in the first of three tests in Pallekele after a losing streak. They lost five out of six test series over the last two years and their solitary win came against the West Indies last year.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews said that, despite its ordeal by spin, top-ranked Australia deserved respect.

“We have got to be cautious and we can’t write them off. They didn’t get runs, but they are a dangerous top order,” Mathews said Wednesday.

Seam bowler Nuwan Pradeep (hamstring) is the latest addition to Sri Lanka’s list of injured fast bowlers with Dhammika Prasad, Dushmantha Chameera and Suranga Lakmal all unable to play. Fast bowler Shaminda Eranga is suspended by the International Cricket Council after his bowling action was found to be illegal.

Lakmal, who was injured ahead of the first test, has been taken off the original 15-member squad named for the series.

If Pradeep is declared unfit for the match, Mathews said uncapped fast bowler Vishwa Fernando will make his international debut. The 24-year-old Fernando has played in 44 first-class matches, taking 127 wickets.

Australia has flown in uncapped left-arm spinner Jon Holland for his debut test after Steve O’Keefe returned home injured. Holland has 106 first-class wickets from 38 matches.


Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan.

Australia: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Adam Voges, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Peter Nevill, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jackson Bird, Jon Holland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CAPTCHA * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.